Featured, MLB NEWS

MLB Rookies of the Year Gone Wild!

Published by on June 6, 2009
Article Source: Bleacher Report - MLB

The Rookie of the Year Award was established in 1947. For the first two years, it was given to the best Rookie in the Major Leagues. Then, in 1949 the sportswriters voted for the best rookies in each league. The sportswriters all write down three names on their ballot. They rank them from first to third. First place players get five points; second place gets three points; and third place receives one point. In 1987 the award was named the Jackie Robinson Award, though I have rarely heard it called that. I can only assume it was named after Robinson since he won the inaugural award. Eligibility requirements were set forth in 1971 and a rookie was formally defined as a player with less than one-hundred thirty at-bats, a pitcher with l...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - MLB
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

Install the ratings plugin

Install the postviews plugin

add your comment add this to delicious add this to digg share this on facebook Stumble this item
Hockey Tickets