Featured, NHL NEWS

Penguins End Championship Drought

Published by on June 13, 2009
Article Source: Bleacher Report - NHL

For fans of the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Chicago Blackhawks, two teams that last won the Stanley Cup in the 1960s, a 17-year championship drought would not seem very lengthy.

Since the Pittsburgh Penguins' previous Cup victory in 1992, however, the team, and the National Hockey League, went through a series of changes that may have made those 17 years seem like 17 decades.

In that 1991-92 season, the NHL had 22 teams. Since the Mario Lemieux-led Penguins' second straight championship, the league expanded to 30 teams, with the addition of eight teams: the Ottawa Senators, Tampa Bay Lightning, Florida Panthers, Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, Nashville Predators, Atlanta Thrashers, Columbus Blue Jackets, and...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NHL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

Install the ratings plugin

Install the postviews plugin

add your comment add this to delicious add this to digg share this on facebook Stumble this item
Hockey Tickets